British Grand Prix

The 2024 British Grand Prix is the 12th race of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championships, held on July 5-7, Silverstone, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom.
Date:July 5-7
Circuit:Silverstone Circuit
Location:Silverstone, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Circuit Length:5.891 km (3.66 miles)
Race Distance:52 Laps, 306.198 km (190.263 miles)
Record Lap:1:27.097 - Max Verstappen (2020)
Last Winner:Max Verstappen 
Number of Turns:18
British Grand Prix is the oldest Grand Prix in the F1 calendar. It was also the first Grand Prix ever held in the Formula 1 championship as it was the first race of the 1950 season (held on 13th May 1950).
British GP has been part of the F1 ever since 1950. Along with the Italian Grand Prix, the British GP is the only race held every season of the Formula 1 Championship. In 2019, it was the 70th anniversary of the British Grand Prix and the 53rd time it was held at Silverstone Circuit.
The 1951 British Grand Prix was particularly exciting for the fans as it was the first time an F1 race was won by a team other than Alfa Romeo. This place and date are very special for Ferrari because it was the Ferrari that beat the less fuel-efficient Alfa Romeo, and the date 14th July 1951 is forever written in history books as the first ever Ferrari win in Formula 1.
While the first few races were held at Silverstone and modern F1 is still driven at this circuit, there were a few different hosting venues for the British Grand Prix in the meantime. In 1955, the British GP would start alternating between Silverstone and Aintree Circuit.
The Silverstone Circuit took even-numbered years except for 1962, and the Aintree Circuit took odd-numbered years. The last race hosted at the Aintree Circuit took place in 1962.
In 1964, Brands Hatch Circuit replaced Aintree Circuit, except this time, Silverstone Circuit would be driven on odd-numbered days and Brands Hatch on even-numbered days. 1986 saw the last race at Brands Hatch.
The new policy of long-term contracts per one Grand Prix has been instituted, and Silverstone has been picked to host the British Grand Prix ever since because of its better modern facilities and higher safety standards.
Nowadays, the British Grand Prix is still hosted at Silverstone Circuit. This track, with a long history, offers a great combination of straights, high-speed corners, and technical sections, making it a favorite amongst both drivers and fans.
Some famous winners of the British Grand Prix include Jim Clark, Alain Prost, Stirling Moss, Jacques Villeneuve, Mark Webber, Jackie Stewart, Michael Schumacher, and Lewis Hamilton.