Australian Grand Prix

The 2024 Australian Grand Prix is the third race of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championships, held on March 22-24, 2024, in Melbourne, Australia.
Date:March 22-24
Circuit:Albert Park Circuit
Location:Melbourne, Australia
Circuit Length:5.278 km (3.280 miles)
Race Distance:58 Laps, 306.124 km (190.216 miles)
Record Lap:1:20.235 - Sergio Perez (2023)
Last Winner:Carlos Sainz
Number of Turns:14
The Australian Grand Prix was first time held in 1985, and since then, it has undergone multiple changes and revisions. It was in 1996 that the Australian Grand Prix moved to Albert Park. Before that, the race was held in Adelaide.
The Albert Park Street Circuit in Melbourne, along with the Gilles Villeneuve Circuit in Montreal, are the only two street circuits in the Formula 1 calendar that are raced in public parks. The circuit is built around Albert Park Lake, and almost the entire track consists of normal public roads.
Similar to many other races on the calendar, the Australian Grand Prix is a feast for the eyes. F1 cars fly around the circuit built around the lake with a view of the city’s skyline in the background during golden hour.
Australian Grand Prix used to be the first race of the season for many years. However, that has changed after the COVID-19 pandemic in the years 2020 and 2021, during which the event was canceled. During those seasons, the Bahrain Grand Prix became the first race, as the race in Albert Park took the third spot on the calendar.
Australian GP is characterized by a smooth surface, tight walls, and unpredictable weather. It is not unusual to see a safety car here as a result of drivers pushing their cars over the limit. The track features 14 turns and up to four DRS zones.
Some of the past winners include Michael Schumacher, Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc, and Sebastian Vettel, as well as Valtteri Bottas and the likes of Ayrton Senna and Damon Hill.