Williams Racing is a British Formula One racing team, competing in the 2024 Formula 1 World Championship.
Base:Grove, Oxfordshire, England, United Kingdom
Founders:Frank Williams and Patrick Head
Team Principal:James Vowles
First F1 Race:1978 Argentine Grand Prix
Constructors' Championships:9
Drivers' Championships:7
Official Website:https://www.williamsf1.com/
Williams, also known as Williams Racing or Williams-Mercedes, is a Formula 1 team racing under a British license, and it's based in Grove, Oxfordshire, England, in the United Kingdom.
The British team is one of the more successful teams in F1 history, and it was founded by Frank Williams, after whom the team is named, and Patrick Head. Williams entered the 1977 Spanish Grand Prix as a team, but they debuted as a constructor until the 1978 Argentine Grand Prix. 1979 Clay Regazzoni became the first man to win in Williams, conquering the 1979 British Grand Prix at the Silverstone Circuit.
Since then, the team has gone through multiple engine suppliers, such as Ford, Honda, Judd, Renault, Mecachrome, Supertec, BMW, Cosworth, Toyota, and Mercedes, which the team uses in 2023.
Over the years, the Williams Racing enjoyed great success, especially in the 1980s and 1990s. Over those two decades, Williams triumphed nine times in the World Constructors' Championship, a record mark until 2000, when Ferrari surpassed the British team and won ten times in the World Constructors' Championship.
Many legendary racing drivers sat in Williams, and each one of their World Drivers' Championships was won by a different driver. In 1980, Alan Jones won their first, Keke Rosberg followed him in 1982 before Nelson Piquet won in 1987.
Nigel Mansell continued in 1992, Alain Prost won with Williams in 1993, Damon Hill became the second British driver to win in Williams in 1996, and Jacques Villeneuve is the last World Drivers' Champion in Williams, having won in 1997.
In the long history of Formula One racing, Williams is only one of five teams to record over 100 victories as a team, joining the likes of Ferrari, Mercedes, Red Bull, and McLaren in this milestone.