Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

The 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix is the second race of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championships, held on March 7-9, 2024, in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
Date:March 7 - 9
Circuit:Jeddah Corniche Circuit
Location:Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Circuit Length:6.174 km (3.836 miles)
Race Distance:50 laps, 308.450 km (191.662 miles)
Record Lap:1:30.734 - Lewis Hamilton (2021)
Last Winner:Sergio Perez
Number of Turns:27
First time held in 2021, the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix is one of the "youngest" circuits in the F1 calendar. Jeddah Corniche Circuit features 27 turns - the most in the F1 calendar as of 2024, followed by Marina Bay Street Circuit in Singapore (23 turns).
Jeddah street circuit is the longest street circuit in the F1 calendar- 6.174 km (3.836 miles) and overall second longest circuit right after Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, 7.004 kilometers (4.352 miles).
The track features very fast and tight corners. Drivers have to put a lot of trust into their cars and go wheel-to-wall in multiple places on the track putting everything on the line. Including all 27 corners, drivers still drive average speed of 250 km/h (160mph) making Jeddah the fastest street circuit.
Multiple experienced drivers have been caught out by the tight and twisty walls of the Jeddah circuit in the past. A great example is Max Verstappen in 2021. The flying Dutchman was on his way to winning the qualification with an impressive lap until he crashed his Red Bull in the last corner.
Jeddah is one of 4 races in the Middle East. Daily temperatures during March reach up to 32 degrees Celsius on average here. Therefore, the F1 race is held during the night when average temperatures are around 18 degrees Celcius - a lot more suitable for F1 drivers and their cars.
Saudi Arabian Grand Prix is one of the most challenging races of the season; however, the event still offers exciting racing battles on the edge, such as Hamilton vs. Verstappen in 2021 or Verstappen vs. Charles Leclerc in 2022. Some of the past winners include Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, and Sergio Perez.