Interlagos Circuit

Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, also known as "Autodromo de Interlagos" or simply "Interlagos," is a racing venue that hosts one of the Formula One World Championship races - the Sao Paulo Grand Prix (formerly known as Brazilian Grand Prix).
Location:Interlagos, São Paulo, Brazil
Circuit Length:4.309 km (2.677 miles)
Number of Turns:15
Record Lap:1:10.540 - Valtteri Bottas (2018)
Opened:12 May 1940
Architect:Louis Romero Sanson
Autodromo de Interlagos is a dedicated motor-racing circuit situated in the city of São Paulo, Brazil. It has an FIA Grade 1 license, which means that the circuit meets the highest standard of safety, infrastructure, layout, and other facilities.
The construction of the Autodromo de Interlagos started in 1938, and the circuit was inaugurated in 1940. The original layout was 7.960 km (4.946 miles) long with 26 turns. In 1972, the circuit hosted its first non-Championship Formula One Grand Prix.
In 1973, Interlagos hosted its first Formula One Grand Prix as a part of the Championship calendar. The race was won by local Emerson Fittipaldi in both 1973 and the following season. In 1975, Jose Carlos Pace - another local driver, won the Grand Prix.
After Jose Carlos Pace tragically died in a plane crash in 1977 the circuit was renamed in his honour to Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace. The original name of the circuit - Interlagos (which means "between lakes") comes from the fact that the circuit is located in the region between 2 lakes - Guarapiranga and Billings.
Interlagos is one of the circuits in the Formula One calendar that are raced in an anti-clockwise direction. The circuit hosted the Brazilian Grand Prix for the years 1973-1980; however, it was abandoned due to safety concerns in 1980.
The circuit consequently got shortened and went through a redesign. In 1990, the Brazilian Grand Prix returned to the Interlagos circuit and the circuit remained the exclusive location for the Grand Prix ever since.
Interlagos is a very popular circuit amongst fans and drivers, and it currently hosts multiple other series besides Formula One. The list includes MotoGP, Stock Car Brasil, Fórmula Truck, Endurance Brasil, and Brazilian Touring Car Championship. In 2021, the F1 race in Brazil was renamed to the Sao Paulo Grand Prix.