Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team, also known as just "Mercedes," is a German Formula One racing team currently based in the United Kingdom, competing in the 2024 Formula 1 World Championship.
Base:Brackley and Brixworth, England, UK
Team Principal:Toto Wolff
First F1 Race:1954 French Grand Prix
Constructors' Championships:8
Drivers' Championships:9
Official Website:
Mercedes-Benz has taken part in the Formula 1 Championship in periods from 1954 both as a team owner and engine manufacturer. Even though Mercedes currently races under a German license, the team is based in England, similar to most Formula One teams.
Mercedes teams are often referred to as "Silver Arrows." The nickname comes from the 1932 race at Nurburgring, during which Manfred von Brauchitsch’s Mercedes was stripped of its color paint to meet the weight limit, revealing its aluminum bodywork. Brauchitsch went on to win the race.
Mercedes is one of the oldest teams currently racing in Formula One, with Scuderia Ferrari being the oldest. Showing its strength, Mercedes won the Formula 1 championship in its debut 1954 season. The team repeated its success in 1955. However, after the 1955 Le Mans tragedy, Mercedes withdrew from motor racing.
Mercedes returned to Formula One as an engine manufacturer in 1994 and won three Driver’ championships and one Constructor’s championship in partnership with McLaren. The partnership lasted until 2009. In 2010, Mercedes bought the Brawn GP team and rebranded it to Mercedes.
After a significant rule change in 2014, Mercedes became one of the most successful teams in F1 history, winning eight consecutive Constructors' Championships and seven Drivers' Championships between 2014 and 2021.
The team has also set the record at the time for the most wins in a single season by winning 19 races during the 2016 season. Mercedes has amassed over 200 wins as an engine supplier and is ranked the second most successful in Formula One history.
In 2023, Mercedes principal Toto Wolff said he believes Mercedes has the most potent driver line-up on the grid with seven-time world champion Lewis Hamilton and young and upcoming George Russell. The two are also driving for the team during the 2024 season.
However, Hamilton, who won six World Drivers' Championships with the team, is set to depart the team after the 2024 season, joining rival team Ferrari.