Spanish Grand Prix

The 2024 Spanish Grand Prix is the tenth race of the 2024 Formula 1 World Championships, held on June 21-23 in Montmeló, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.
Date:June 21-23
Circuit:Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Location:Montmeló, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Circuit Length:4.657 km (2.894 miles)
Race Distance:66 Laps, 307.362 km (190.908 miles)
Record Lap:1:16.330 - Max Verstappen (2023)
Last Winner:Max Verstappen
Number of Turns:14
The Spanish Grand Prix is one of the oldest races in the world. It predates the F1 world championship and has been driven intermittently since 1913, not yet as a part of the Formula 1 championship. It celebrated its centenary in 2013.
Spanish GP has been hosted at multiple circuits since its addition to the F1 calendar. The first time the Spanish Grand Prix joined a Formula 1 championship was in 1951 at the famously fast and wide Pedralbes street circuit in Barcelona.
However, this was only one of two races held at Padrables Street Circuit in 1952 and 1953 that were canceled due to a lack of financial resources. 1954 has been the last race at this circuit, and both races race 1955-1957 have been called off again.
It took a while before Spanish GP found its new home. 1967, the first non-championship race took place at Jarama. At the beginning of the 1968 season, it was agreed that the Spanish Grand Prix would become a part of the F1 championship calendar, and it would alternate between Jarama and Montjuïc.
While Circuito del Jarama was slow and twisty, Montjuïc circuit was the exact opposite- wide and dangerously fast sweeping turns. Jarama would hold even-numbered years, and Montjuïc would host odd-numbered years. Tragedy in 1975 would result in dangerous Montjuïc being canceled.
Jarama would host Spanish GP exclusively in the years 1976-1982. Spanish GP was then canceled due to unpleasant hot conditions during the race and a small attendance. In 1986, the Spanish Grand Prix again returned to the F1 championship, this time hosted at Circuito Permanente de Jerez located near Seville in Southern Spain.
Jerez has seen one of the greatest battles and closest finishes in F1 history between Ayrton Senna and Nigel Mansell. The two cars finished side by side, Senna winning by only 0.014 seconds. The year 1990 was the last time Spanish GP was held at Jerez.
Spanish Grand Prix moved to Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya in 1991 where it has remained ever since. Ever since its inception, the Spanish GP at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya has been held in the early season, usually late April or May. It now takes place in late June.
Spanish GP has been a great success ever since Fernando Alonso - a Spanish driver, started driving and winning F1 races both outside and at his home Grand Prix (2006). Some other famous winners of the Spanish GP include Emerson Fittipaldi, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen, Alain Prost, Nigel Mansell, Jackie Stewart, and more.