McLaren Racing is a British Formula One racing team competing in the 2024 Formula 1 World Championship.
Base:McLaren Technology Centre Woking, Surrey, England, United Kingdom
Founder:Bruce McLaren
Team Principal:Zak Brown
First F1 Race:1966 Monaco Grand Prix
Constructors' Championships:8
Drivers' Championships:12
Official Website:
McLaren Racing, also known as McLaren-Mercedes or McLaren F1 Team, is a Formula 1 team racing under a British license, and it's based in McLaren Technology Centre Woking, Surrey, England, in the United Kingdom.
McLaren is one of the few teams founded by a former F1 driver. In this case, it was Bruce McLaren who never managed to win the championship, but he won four Formula One races and left a significant legacy with his team, for which he also raced in the last five seasons of his racing career.
The team was founded in 1963, but they entered their first Formula One World Championship in 1966, participating in the Monaco Grand Prix at the famous Circuit de Monaco.
Early on, McLaren had a lot of success in Formula One. After winning their first race at the 1968 Belgian Grand Prix, already two years after the team's inception, Emerson Fittipaldi won its first Drivers' Championship in 1974.
His success was followed by James Hunt in 1976, and some of the biggest legends of the sport managed to succeed in McLaren after that. Niki Lauda, Alain Prost, Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen, and Lewis Hamilton all became World Champions with the team.
However, after the team's last success with the seven-time World Champion in 2008, they have struggled to fight for the top places again, and the team entered a period of rebuilding, which they hope will end with yet another Drivers' or Constructors' Championship.
In 2024, the team uses a Mercedes engine, relying on two youngsters as drivers. Lando Norris from the United Kingdom, who has raced for the team since 2019, is joined by Australia's Oscar Piastri.