2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix - Race Results & Summary

Saturday, 09 March 2024 at 19:42
Updated at Sunday, 10 March 2024 at 05:36
verstappen max redbull car rbcp49
Red Bull Racing driver Max Verstappen won the 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix after starting from the first spot on the grid.
The second race of the season didn't go well for Pierre Gasly. The Alpine driver suffered an issue with a gearbox during the warm-up lap and was called into the pits right after the first lap of the race to retire the car.
Another driver who will want to forget the race at Jeddah Corniche Circuit quickly is Lance Stroll. The Canadian driver crashed his car in turn 22 on lap 7.
The majority of the drivers started the race on medium tires with a plan of making the race a one-stop, and they got their opportunity for the stop already on the lap mentioned above.
It was during this stop that Sergio Perez was noted for an unsafe release by stewards. He later received a five-second penalty.
Kevin Magnussen made two mistakes right after the race restarted, which resulted in a 20-second penalty in total for him.
First, he squeezed Alex Albon to the wall and almost caused a collision, and then gained an advantage during an overtake on Yuki Tsunoda by going off track.
While he made two crucial mistakes that destroyed his own race, the Danish driver showed a defending masterclass as he held up all the cars behind him and earned his teammate Nico Hulkenberg a free pit stop without going into traffic. That allowed the German driver to take P10 at the chequered flag.
The 18-year-old rookie Oliver Bearman started the race from P11 and brought home an amazing result of P7 after what was his first-ever race on F1.
Finally, Verstappen, who crossed the finish line in first place, managed the race from the front and only had to overtake Lando Norris, who didn't put up too much of a fight as he knew it wasn't his battle.

2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix - Race Results:

1Max VerstappenRed Bull+0.000
2Sergio PerezRed Bull+13.643
3Charles LeclercFerrari+18.639
4Oscar PiastriMcLaren+32.007
5Fernando AlonsoAston Martin+35.759
6George RussellMercedes+39.936
7Oliver BearmanFerrari+42.679
8Lando NorrisMcLaren+45.708
9Lewis HamiltonMercedes+47.391
10Nico HulkenbergHaas+1:16.996
11Alex AlbonWilliams+1:28.354
12Kevin MagnussenHaas+1:45.737
13Esteban OconAlpine+1 Lap
14Logan SargeantWilliams+1 Lap
15Yuki TsunodaRB+1 Lap
16Daniel RicciardoRB+1 Lap
17Valtteri BottasKick Sauber+1 Lap
18Zhou GuanyuKick Sauber+1 Lap
19Lance StrollAston MartinDNF
20Pierre GaslyAlpineRET