Verstappen Covers Off Norris Again As Hamilton Scores First Podium Of 2024 In Spain

Sunday, 23 June 2024 at 16:49
Updated at Monday, 24 June 2024 at 11:40
verstappen max redbull rbcp223
Max Verstappen won the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix, covering off Lando Norris once again to record his 61st career win.
The Dutch driver didn't start the race at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya from the pole position, as that place belonged to his good friend and rival Norris, who qualified first on Saturday.
However, it wasn't either of these drivers, who led the race after Turn 1. The Brit had a bad start and on top of that, he pushed the current World Championship leader onto the grass, as both maybe lost a bit of time fighting for that top position.
Coming from behind was George Russell in Mercedes, who started fourth and stormed past his teammate, Lewis Hamilton off the finish line and both left both front-row drivers in the dust after Turn 1.
Russell led the race, but it didn't take long before Verstappen took over the lead of the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix. The Dutchman seemingly controlled the race, but McLaren had an ace up their sleeve as they tried a different strategy.
Norris tried to off-set his tires to have more pace at the end of the race, but that wasn't enough as he finished 2.219 seconds behind Verstappen, who crossed the finish line first to win in Barcelona.
Behind the two was Hamilton, who managed to overtake his teammate thanks to being on the softer tire in the last stint, finishing third in the race, which was his first podium of the 2024 F1 season.
Russell finished in P4, and behind the top four were two Ferrari drivers, Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz, who were completely off the pace throughout the race, struggling to challenge the top runners.

2024 Spanish Grand Prix Race Results:

1Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing1:28:20.22725
2Lando NorrisMcLaren+2.21919
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes+17.79015
4George RussellMercedes+22.32012
5Charles LeclercFerrari+22.70910
6Carlos Sainz Jr.Ferrari+31.0288
7Oscar PiastriMcLaren+33.7606
8Sergio PerezRed Bull Racing+59.5244
9Pierre GaslyAlpine+1:02.0252
10Esteban OconAlpine+1:11.8891
11Nico HulkenbergHaas F1 Team+1:19.2150
12Fernando AlonsoAston Martin1 Lap0
13Guanyu ZhouSauber1 Lap0
14Lance StrollAston Martin1 Lap0
15Daniel RicciardoRB1 Lap0
16Valtteri BottasSauber1 Lap0
17Kevin MagnussenHaas F1 Team1 Lap0
18Alex AlbonWilliams1 Lap0
19Yuki TsunodaRB1 Lap0
20Logan SargeantWilliams2 Laps0